Jewish Journal

Tag: Kosher For Passover

View the most popular tags overall?

  • Gluten-free matzah

    6 days ago

    Although matzah is a symbol of our exodus from Egypt, it is, for some, a literal bread of affliction. Traditional matzah is made of flour milled from wheat, rye, barley, spelt or oats. All of these grains — except oats — contain high levels of gluten, a protein that, if ingested by...

  • The art of Passover baking [RECIPES]

    By Judy Zeidler

    March 13, 2013 | 6:38 am

    Passover, the Festival of Freedom — also known as the Festival of Unleavened Bread — is celebrated for eight days. Over the centuries, Jewish cooks have produced a rich array of foods for the Passover holiday, and desserts are an especially important course of the meal. 


  • The pharaohs of pizza: Manhattan Beach restaurant takes on matzah pizza

    April 12, 2012 | 3:42 pm

    Running out of ideas on how to use left-over matzah? How about a matzah pizza? In the past you probably baked matzah pizza at home. You spread the cheese and sauce on your matzah and you threw it in the oven.

    But now, someone can do it all for you. Fresh Brothers pizza is offering...

  • California says no to Kosher for Passover Coke

    By Brad A. Greenberg

    April 10, 2012 | 7:13 pm

    News that matters: California has banned Kosher for Passover Coke. That’s right, the good stuff that has real sugar in it will no longer be sold in the state. JTA reports:

    Coke was required to change the way it manufactures caramel due to the high levels of the chemical...

  • The Rest of Passover Cooking [RECIPE]

    By Rob Eshman

    April 6, 2012 | 12:34 am

    The food challenge of Passover is not the seder.  It’s the seven days that come after.

    After all, you know what to make on seder.  Torah and tradition are right there by your side, cooking: matzo, charoset, chicken or brisket, kugel if you’re Askenazi, something people actually...