Jewish Journal

Israel Prizes awarded in special ceremony


May 10, 2011 | 3:14 pm

Ten Israelis were awarded the Israel Prize, the country’s greatest national honor.

The prizes were awarded Tuesday night during the ceremony held annually at the close of Israel Independence Day.

Lifetime achievement awards were presented to Hulda Gurvitaz and Eli Elaluf.

This year’s other recipients were: Aeronautics industry leader David Hariri in the engineering category; Tel-Aviv University Professor Yosef Shilo, life studies; sculptor and painter Yaakov Dorchin, art; Tel Aviv University Professor Michael Schwartz, Israel studies; composer Noam Sheriff, music; Bar-Ilan University Professor Pnina Klein, education; Hebrew University Professor Ruth Gavison, law; and Maccabi Tel Aviv chairman Shimon Mizrachi, sports.

The prize comes with a cash award of nearly $22,000.

Tracker Pixel for Entry


We welcome your feedback.

Privacy Policy
Your information will not be shared or sold without your consent. Get all the details.

Terms of Service
JewishJournal.com has rules for its commenting community.Get all the details.

JewishJournal.com reserves the right to use your comment in our weekly print publication.