Jewish Journal

Kollins, Turtledove get Prometheus nod

by Adam Wills

March 24, 2010 | 2:02 pm

The Libertarian Futurist Society has announced its slate for the 2010 Prometheus Awards, which includes four Jews—three from Southern California (Dani and Eytan Kollin, Harry Turtledove) and one from Canada (Cory Doctorow , who has ties with USC)—and an outspoken Mormon (Orson Scott Card):

Hidden Empire by Orson Scott Card (TOR Books)
The sequel to Card’s “Empire” (also a Prometheus finalist) covers the emergence of an imperial president and the role of voluntary action in saving human lives. Card has had three previous novels nominated for the Prometheus.

Makers by Cory Doctorow (TOR Books)
An inspiring story of entrepreneurial competition in the near future. The story makes Schumpeter’s creative destruction visible, and shows how even the poorest can be helped by competition and invention. Doctorow’s “Little Brother” (TOR Books) won last year’s Prometheus award.

The Unincorporated Man by Dani and Eytan Kollin (TOR Books)
This novel explores the idea that education and personal development could be funded by allowing investors to take a share of one’s future income. The story takes a strong position that liberty is important and worth fighting for, and the characters spend their time pushing for different conceptions of what freedom is. This is the first nomination for the Kollin brothers.

Liberating Atlantis by Harry Turtledove (ROC/Penguin Books)
The third book in Turtledove’s Atlantis trilogy illustrates why people of all colors should be treated equally, and shows slaves in an alternate history demonstrating their humanity by fighting for their rights. Turtledove’s “The Gladiator” was a Prometheus co-winner in 2008. The first book in the trilogy was a finalist in 2009, and he had one other novel nominated for the award in 1999.

The United States of Atlantis by Harry Turtledove (ROC/Penguin Books)
The second book in Turtledove’s Atlantis trilogy covers his alternate colonies’ revolution to free themselves from the British crown. This is the first time an author has had two books as Prometheus finalists in a single year.

The Best Novel finalist (along with the Prometheus Hall of Fame winner—Harlan Ellison is in the running) will be announced in September at the World Science Fiction Convention, which will be held in Melbourne, Australia, Sept. 2-6.

Follow me on Facebook or Twitter.

Tracker Pixel for Entry


View our privacy policy and terms of service.




Comic-con, anime, sci-fi and Trekkies. What more could a reader want?

Read more.